The octave refers to the division of an overall parent task into eight sub-tasks. It corresponds to the musical octave: C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C. Each endeavor begins with “C,” and hopefully ends with “C” at the higher frequency.
The notes in the octave are spaced apart evenly, except at the intervals between E-F and B-C. Those transition points are called semitones. At the semitones of our labor, difficulty is encountered. The resistance at E-F threatens the continuation of the project and resistance at B-C threatens the completion of the project.